About Gujarat

Located in the western part of India, the State of Gujarat shares its border with Rajasthan and Pakistan (northeast), Maharashtra (south), Madhya Pradesh (east) and Arabian Sea (west). The State has the longest coastline in the country and has unique geographical features.

After India attained its independence in 1947, Gujarat was divided into three regions Saurashtra, Kutch and Bombay. The State of Gujarat was formed in 1960. While, Ahmedabad was the first capital of Gujarat, the capital was moved to Gandhinagar in 1970.